Code review for small-ish CLI application

Hey friends!

I've been using Rust for about 6 months now. I feel like I've got a good grasp of the basics but would love to get some feedback on my latest project: ReadStor.

Any feedback is welcome but I'll try to focus it a bit.

1. Application structure is always difficult for me. I looked at a few other repos to see how they did it and tried to mimic some aspects of them. But still not sure how much I should put into main or should I make an App struct that handles args or should I just make a bunch of separate functions.

2. I come from writing Python so there's a lot of OOP stuff I've had to drop but I'm not quite sure I'm there. Is there anything that screams OOP?

3. Handling of public/private is a new concept for me as Python doesn't really have this besides the use of _ or __.

4. Application configuration is the biggest mystery of them all. I've tried finding resources on the best way to do this but I'm not sure if I'm looking in the right places. A lot of what I've read has to do with the object itself (global mutable, global immutable, concrete, Traits) but not how to use them in an application properly. I don't have a background in CS and if I did I'd still be wondering how things "should" be done in Rust.

Anyways, any feedback would be amazing!

Thanks so much! :slight_smile:

1 Like

You say that you're relatively new to Rust but from what I can see you're quite well along. It's nice and readable, and I find it well organized.

One thing I did notice is a number of functions returning Result which have no error variant, ie fn foo() -> LibResult<()> and then the last statement returning the unit type, ie Ok(()). Generally speaking you only need Result of the function may return an error. Otherwise you can omit the return value entirely and do away with the Ok(()).