Cannot mutably borrow immutable field, cannot borrow as mutable

Hi, I'm a beginner in rust.
When I implement a linked list. I have some problems.
Can someone debug for me ?
https://gist.github.com/anonymous/25e316fc7cfd981ddc372dbe44fe6144
Thank for your help.

First, for the lists there's a tutorial you've might have seen: Learning Rust With Entirely Too Many Linked Lists

As for references, you can't go from an immutable reference to a mutable one. Once you borrow something with &, then everything borrowed from that later has to be & as well. You can go from &mut to &mut or &, but not the other way.

There's a difference between mut p = &l and p = &mut l. The mut next to the variable means you can reassign the variable, or modify it when it owns a value. The &mut means it's a reference through which you can modify the reference's destination. It's sort of like const char *ptr vs char *const ptr in C.

In your code:

let mut p = &l;

That's a mutable p (so you can do p = &q; p = &r; p = &s) to immutable (read-only) l content, so while you can make it point anywhere, you can't modify anything in the things it points to.

For this particular error you need:

let mut p = &mut l;

Which allows changing where p points to, but also is a mutable reference, so also allows modifying the object it points to.

However, the whole loop needs more changes to look safe to the borrow checker. Lists are one particular example that is not a good fit for the borrow checker (see the article at the top of the post)

1 Like
  • Use owned values whenever you can. Mutable references are the most limited kind in the language, since they require to be exclusive and require the object to remain completely valid at all times (not easy with lists when you manipulate next pointer, which makes it temporarily invalid). Here you want to destroy one list and build another, so you can take ownership of nodes you're destroying.

• There are many helper methods to make use of Option easier.