C++ has vector(n, value). c has calloc(). rust has, uh,

rust has, uh, iterators, map, collect, size_hint, automatic coercions to vector, ...

buf: repeat(0).take(cap).collect(),

let's say, just for the sake of argument, Im an imperative c++ systems programmer whose cognitive load is currently at max from grokking the awesome borrow checker. perhaps there could be a slightly easier way to perform a basic task like initializing some bytes on the heap. such as:

buf: Vec::with_fill(size, value)
3 Likes

The issue with creating such functions is that not everyone has the same understanding of what "basic" means. Hence, the interface might grow and grow and grow again with times and you ends up with a lot of duplicate functionalities.

Another way to write this :

(0..size).map(|_| value).collect()

There used to be a Vec::from_elem(size, value), but it was removed not too long ago, in favor of the iterators.

You might want to read the RFC that proposed the change, or take a look at the pull request that removed it.

4 Likes

Speaking of things I've read:

To employ any particularly cutting-edge technologies. Old, established techniques are better.

Lack of practical affordances, too dogmatic about paradigm.

http://doc.rust-lang.org/1.0.0-alpha/complement-project-faq.html

I wouldn't consider iterators to be "particularly cutting-edge technologies". It's true that it takes some time to get used to them, but they are central to the way that Rust's collection APIs work - it's not like you will need to learn them only to initialize vectors and then never use them again.

Also, could you expand on why this particular decision makes Rust seem "too dogmatic about paradigm" to you?
I can't see how one would apply this criticism to Rust, given that it is a multi-paradigm language - there is no enforcement of purism, nor hardcore OO, for example.

could you expand on why this particular decision makes Rust seem "too dogmatic about paradigm" to you?