Beginner question: How to mock std::net::UdpSocket?

I am still getting started with Rust, and I am trying to write a small and trivial library that will perform Udp broadcasts, according to the SSDP protocol, and parse everything that will come back.

So far, everything works exactly like I intended. But I am stuck at writing unit tests for the parts that work on a std::net::UdpSocket. The methods I want to test accept a UdpSocket as a parameter, and then broadcast things on that very socket. In my tests, I want to pass a mock object into it, which will record the data and addresses which were broadcasted to.

The problem is that UdpSocket implements no trait, there's just methods. I thought of adding a separate trait, copy the needed methods in there so that UdpSocket is a valid implementation. However, the signatures like send_to(&self, buf: &[u8], addr: SocketAddr) are now getting in my way, because it is all &self and not mutable, so I cannot store a copy of the buffer that was sent to alter validate that in my unit tests.

I would like the user of my library to stick with the original UdpSocket from the standard library, instead of adding another layer of abstraction.

I am stuck and don't know how to proceed. I found some (rather old) Rust libraries that have already dealt with the SSDP protocol, but neither of those had any unit tests at all.

Personally I don't bother with mocking Rust types. I'm not familiar with SSDP but when testing code that makes network calls I'll set up a socket/server in the test code and give its address to the code being tested. That way the code being tested works just as it does in production and only the endpoint(s) it communicates with are fake.

3 Likes

Why not use real a socket over localhost? It performs very well.

You can use the port zero to ask the OS to give you a random unused port.

3 Likes