Bad file descriptor with `std::io::Read`

I am quite new to Rust’s File I/O system.
With this snippet I am trying to append a String to a ‘.gitignore’ file:

pub fn add(path: &mut PathBuf, item: &mut String) -> Result<(), String> {
    path.push(".gitignore");

let file_options = OpenOptions::new()
        .append(true)
        .open(path.clone());

match file_options {
        Ok(mut file) => {
            match file.read_to_string(item) {
                Ok(_) => Ok(()),
                Err(e) => {
                    println!("{}", path.to_str().unwrap());
                    Err(e.to_string())
                }
            }
        },
        Err(e) => Err(e.to_string())
    }
}

However, this results in an error with the following output:

<path to the .gitignore file>
Bad file descriptor (os error 9)

The path is valid, I tried to open the path with nano, no problem. Why does my program throw a Bad file descriptor error?

0 Likes

You aren’t asking for read permissions when opening it.

1 Like

Hmm, I’m not very experienced with file I/O in rust either, but this seems like it should work.

Taking a look at this example, on windows it produces a nicer error:

.\.gitignore
thread 'main' panicked at 'called `Result::unwrap()` on an `Err` value: "Access is denied. (os error 5)"', libcore\result.rs:1009:5

and on WSL, it produces an error like the one you posted:

./.gitignore
thread 'main' panicked at 'called `Result::unwrap()` on an `Err` value: "Bad file descriptor (os error 9)"', src/libcore/result.rs:1009:5

Ah, from this we can presume that you don’t have read permission, which you’re trying to do, which when we change your file options to the following:

.append(true)
    .read(true)
    .open(path.clone());

It works!

0 Likes

Thanks OptimisticPeach and sfackler!

Adding read permissions does solve the problem.