Why using the read_lines() iterator is much slower than using read_line()?

Hello I am new to rust, I started writing rust just 3 days ago, I went through the rust docs and read an example of how to read files efficiently, but trying that method with the for loop is much slower than going through the file using the read_line() method from BufReader. For example read1 is at least 2x faster than read2 . Am I doing something wrong? Does anyone know the reason for that?

fn read1(file: File) -> std::io::Result<()>{
    let mut reader = BufReader::new(file);
    let mut _l = String::new();
    loop {
        let len = reader.read_line(&mut _l)?;
        if len == 0 {
            break;
        }
        _l.clear();
    }

return Ok(());
}

fn read2(file: File) {
    let reader = BufReader::new(file);
    for _line in reader.lines() {}
}
1 Like

Just a suggestion maybe read_line reads the whole file while lines divide the whole file based on return characters...

read_line() reads just one line and puts in the reference you passed to it.

@johnstef My bad didn't saw the loop

The lines() method automatically attached to anything implementing std::io::BufRead is really convenient but it has a big performance problem - the iterator returns an owned String so we need to allocate a new string on the heap for every single line in the file. Allocating memory is pretty fast, but when SSDs can read something like 200MB/s and lines might only be 100 bytes long, doing all that allocation only to throw a line away immediately can add up.

On the other hand, calling read_line() and passing in an existing string (_l in your example) means we only ever have one string buffer and each line we read will just overwrite the previous. This avoids the need to allocate at the cost of losing access to a line once you've progressed to the next (because we just did _l.clear() and overwrote the buffer).

10 Likes