Why is slice end_index logic as it is?

I am new to Rust, coming from Go.

I was doing rustlings primitive_types4.rs and slicing does not make sense for me.

let a = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5];
let nice_slice = &a[TODO];
assert_eq!([2, 3, 4], nice_slice);

The starting index makes sense, counting from 0th. Resulting in [1..TODO].

.. for me means 'through', confirmed by Bash:

$ echo {1..3}
1 2 3

The Rust Book says:

We create slices using a range within brackets by specifying [starting_index..ending_index].

a[3] == 4. 4's index is 3. Thus, I'd expect [1..3] to work, but it actually results in [2, 3].

As a second guess, I'd try [1..3] with the thinking of 'from index 1, result.len() == 3' ('I want n items.'), the result is the same, [2, 3].

For me, actual Rust behaviour ([1..4]) is the weirdest. I could define it as 'start index is start index; end index is result.len() - start_index, or end_index+1. If I have an output I want in mind, it requires the most thinking of the three.

How does this make sense for practical use? I see myself making off by one by errors with this. Is it heritage from C? Should I be thinking different?

That's not "confirmed by"; that's "what Bash happens to do".

Half-open ranges -- start ≤ x < end -- are best for programming problems. The usual link about it, from 39 years ago now, is EWD831, which is titled as being about counting from zero but is actually about the different ways of specifying a range.

If you want inclusive, then you can use 1..=3 instead of 1..4, but I strongly suggest trying to get used to the half-open ranges instead.

Half-open has the huge advantage that it splits things nicely without overlap or missing things. So if you split 0..n at k, you get 0..k and k..n -- no ±1 fixups needed.

This is particularly true for slicing since Rust uses 0-based indexing. The indexes in an n-length slice are [0, n).