Why do so many examples use 'extern crate'?

When I started learning Rust, I saw extern crate <crate>in a lot of code. Sometime annontated with #[macro_use] and sometimes not and it confused me.
I think use is quite easy to understand coming from another language, because it is similar to import statements in other languages. extern crate has no equivalent in other languages that I know of and it was confusing why it is needed when you also have to add the crate to cargo.toml.

It took a bit of googling to find out that as of Rust 2018 it is never required except for "internal" crates like proc_macro, std, core, alloc and test. And as far as I can tell #[macro_use] is never needed anymore.

Why do so many examples in the Rust books and crate documentation still use this? Are people still using Rust 2015? Did they not notice that it is not needed anymore? Or is it just legacy that nobody had the time to update? Clippy doesn't even have a lint for it, which I think is surprising considering these statements are just superfluous and confusing to newcomers.
Can somebody please explain this? Am I missing something obvious?

2 Likes

If I remember correctly, we could call extern crate my_crate_from_crates_dot_io inside lib.rs (or a document test) and it would automatically be added to the system without needing to define it in Cargo.toml.

I thought extern crate to be no longer needed in the 2018 edition in favour of use, but recently I noticed that some crates only work when included with extern crate and not with use (such as pest), so I'm also wondering where the difference lies.

I believe that if a crate exports a proc macro, then you need to use extern crate to make use of it.

1 Like

Proc macros can be imported like any other item.

1 Like