Where can I learn just enough Rust for CP?

Hi everyone,

I am a Python programmer (83rd %ile according to Pluralsight Skill IQ), getting into Competitive Programming.

C++ (and its errors like segfault and stuff) makes me spend too much time on language instead of solving problems & learning Algo & DS.

So I want to learn Rust. Of course loops, variables, etc. concepts are transferable, but I want to learn to write good Rust code, not like a toddler stringing together words.

My aim is

1. ASAP :- be immediately productive in CP with Rust
  2. Next :- write idiomatic Rust
  3. Someday :- discover lang internals to really master Rust.

How can get 1, 2 &3?

Have you taken a look at the book yet? It gives a good overview over all the important features to get you started using the language properly and isnʼt too long.

I wrote about Rust and competitive programming here.

3 Likes

Have you tried https://exercism.io/

Note that when it comes to competitive programming, the platform I know that supports Rust the best is kattis.

1 Like

For 1 & 2 the best way to get up and running would be to take a problem you have solved before in another language and try to implement it in Rust.

You'll probably struggle at first because the language tends to prefer correctness over immediate productivity. That means where some languages may let you get away with fumbling through and figuring it out later (typically in a debugger), the Rust compiler often won't let your code compile until it's at least moderately correct.

Some general bits of advice for getting into Rust: