What's the fastest way to store 300 million unique values in a HashSet?

Hey guys,

I have 300+ million unique strings (totaling 8+ GB) and I am storing those in a HashSet for a fast contains check. and it's working fine.

But the inserts are a little slow. When I run the program, it reads all those strings from a file and starts inserting them in the HashSet. But it takes some time to do all the inserts.
My end goal is to have the fastest way to check whether a string exists in the HashSet or not. I have millions of contains checks every hour.

I was wondering if there's a way to speed up the HashSet insertion? or maybe another data type I could use for the use case.

Currently, it takes around 15-20 minutes to read the file and insert all those 300 million strings in the HashSet.

Please note: I am a professional rust programmer yet, quite new and still learning haha :slight_smile:

I would appreciate it if anybody could help me.
Thanks.

This sounds like trying to move house using a Peel P50, and asking how to make it go faster. The problem isn't the P50 is slow, it's that you're using a P50 when you should be using a truck. :stuck_out_tongue:

How are these strings stored, and can you change that? My first instinct for "quick, easy, and likely to work" would be to transfer all those strings into a SQLite database, then use that to perform queries directly. That avoids having to load the entire thing into memory, and SQLite has been rigorously optimised for... (checks) holy cow, it's over 25 years old now!

If you really need to avoid the disk access at runtime, you could try loading the whole database into memory first (which should be however fast file IO is, which you can't really do anything about), then "open" it in place.