What's the best way to make this simple vector modification compile?

Hello

I’m new to Rust.

fn main() {
    let mut numbers = vec![1,2,3];
    let first : & mut i32 = & mut numbers[0];
    *first = 7;
    println!("{:?}", numbers);
    *first = 8;
}

cannot borrow numbers as immutable because it is also borrowed as mutable
–> src/main.rs:5:22

What’s the best way to make this example compile?

Or should I simply avoid modifying vector elements via pointers entirely, and always modify them via indexing?

In other languages I often have something like

cur_user = &users[id];
 cur_user.processed = true;

You could use brackets/scopes like this:

fn main() {                                                                                             
    let mut numbers = vec![1, 2, 3];                                                                    
    {                                                                                                   
        let first: &mut i32 = &mut numbers[0];                                                          
        *first = 7;                                                                                     
    }                                                                                                   
    {                                                                                                   
        let first: &mut i32 = &mut numbers[0];                                                          
        *first = 8;                                                                                     
    }                                                                                                   
}                                                                                                       

Think of &mut as a lock for exclusive access. For as long as the exclusive reference exists, nothing else at all can happen to the object.

2 Likes