What is the term Registry in rust?

I started learning rust by reading the official book. So when coming to the second chapter -
Programming a guessing game, we need to add rand crate to our dependency.

In that specifically it was written

Now that we have an external dependency, Cargo fetches the latest versions of everything from the registry , which is a copy of data from Crates.io. Crates.io is where people in the Rust ecosystem post their open source Rust projects for others to use.

After updating the registry, Cargo checks the [dependencies] section and downloads any crates you don’t have yet

So does it mean even though if i want only rand crate to be included in my project , it fetches the latest versions of everything from registry means whether it downloads all the crates available in crates.io?

Or what it is refferring to? What exactly is registry? what exactly is updating the registry?

The registry is a list of crates that are available on Crates.io. You get a local copy of it so that cargo knows what crates are available, and it is updated (by cargo) on occasion by syncing with the remote Crates.io copy. This is how your local cargo invocation knows when crates get updates or whether they exist at all.

2 Likes

Specifically, the crates.io registry is maintained as a Git repository that's updated automatically whenever a new version of a package is released. The registry only contains the names of crates and some metadata about them, mainly the versions and which other crates they depend on. Fetching the source code for a package like rand is a separate step.

4 Likes

But why my local local cargo invocation wants to knows when crates get updates or whether they exist at all? If cargo.lock takes care of maintaing the same version of my dependencies for building why my local cargo instance wants to know the updates of other crates?

Got it. But what's the use of it?