What is the future goal of async Rust?

I come from Go and I'm relatively new to Rust. While I love the language, I really really miss Goroutines and the simplicity. Parallel programming just does not feel the same in Rust. At the same time, I'm hearing a lot of dissatisfaction from the community about async Rust, but I don't have enough understanding of compilers to understand the implications of the designs or what the discussions are about.

Still, I would love to understand async Rust's eventual goal from a user's perspective. Will Rust ever implement something synonymous to Goroutines that hides away the intricacies of async Rust? If not, what can I expect instead?

2 Likes

In some sense, the thing that makes Rust different from Goroutines isn't its async code. Rather, it is the fact that Rust has non-async code too.

The classic analogy with function colors is quite relevant here. The argument is that it is a shame that Rust introduced async/await because it introduces this distinction between non-async and async code that complicates things. However, the way you get a language like Go is not by getting rid of async code — rather, you do it by making everything async.

So in that sense, it's not that there is some third concept of "Rust goroutines" that we can introduce. Because to get to that point, you would have to get rid of non-async code, and then simplify async code in the ways that this allows (e.g. once you no longer have non-async code, you can probably do away with the .await keyword).

We're not going to remove the non-async part of the language. So no, we won't get something closer to goroutines.

To see one place where the fact that Go is secretly async everywhere becomes visible, compare this blog post about async Rust with this old Go issue. I believe that if you read both, the analogy should become clearer, but I'm happy to elaborate if not.

37 Likes

wg-async: How using async Rust ought to feel (and why it doesn't today)

5 Likes