What are pipes and underscores doing in Rust?

Hi guys,
i'm pretty new to rust. I want to use the curl crate. Now i see this code example:

use std::io::{stdout, Write};
use curl::easy::Easy;

let mut handle = Easy::new();
handle.url("https://www.rust-lang.org/").unwrap();
handle.write_function(|data| {
    Ok(stdout().write(data).unwrap())
}).unwrap();
handle.perform().unwrap();

This code make sense, i think write_function is a callback. But what the hell are those "|" pipes are doing? (|data|) I know them as OR operator.

Or a small code snippet from gtk-rs:

window.connect_delete_event(clone!(window => move |_, _| {
        window.destroy();
        Inhibit(false)
}));

What does |_, _|?

I don't find any information about pipes and underscores in rust. Can anyone help me?

1 Like

"Pipes" are used to defined closures Closures: Anonymous Functions that Can Capture Their Environment - The Rust Programming Language

_ is used when there is an input argument that you simple don't use and the way to tell the compiler about it is to add a _ you can also do _my_var as well for the same result.

7 Likes

Hey

That's not a pipe, that's the closure syntax. Also underscores are for wildcards. You can use wildcards here because you are not using the variables passed so it doesn't matter.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick answer! Make sense now :slight_smile:

You can also use underscores to throw away type annotations you don't care about, for example:

let list = &[1u8, 2, 3, 4];
let v: Vec<_> = list.iter().map(|item| item + 1).collect();

collect turns an iterator of something into a collection, but it needs to know what type of collection to create. The compiler can already infer the type of the item, so the only additional info it needs is the type of the container. In this case, we're giving it the annotation "vector of type 'whatever, I don't care'", and letting the compiler fill in the "whatever" with the type it inferred already.