Understanding Rust functional programming styles

I'm a very beginner to Rust and I got confused by Rust functional programming style code. Assume freq is a vector containing non negative integers. The below code makes me confused.

Get the largest index with a positive value.

let key_max = (0..denom).rev().step_by(1).filter(|&i| freq[i] > 0).next().unwrap();

Get the number of positive values in freq.

let size = freq.iter().filter(|&&f| f > 0u32).count();

I wonder

1. why the first line of code use &i (a single &) while the second line of code uses &&f (double &).
  2. In general, why do we need &&f in the second line of code? Why doesn't Rust make it simple to require only a single &?

It's because filter always adds a reference to the item type, as it doesn't let you take ownership of the value.

In the first case, (0..denom) creates an iterator of item type usize. The argument to filter will then be &usize.

In the second case, freq.iter() creates an iterator of item type &u32, so the argument to filter will then be &&u32.

6 Likes

Yeah, this is a bit unfortunate.

Don't feel bad if you forget to put the &s, though, or put the wrong number of them. I certainly still get it wrong regularly. Getting compiler errors isn't a bad thing; it's totally ok to just write it without any then put them in where the compiler says they're needed :upside_down_face:

1 Like

Hi Alice,

Thank you very much for your explanation! Would you help explain a little bit more why 0..denom creates an iterator of item type usize (without reference) while freq.iter() creates an iterator of item type &u32? Is it because freq is mutable? If I make freq non mutable, will freq.iter() creates an iterator of item type u32?

0..denom is sugar for creating a Range (you can search for .. in the docs to find that out) and you can look in the docs to see the type of items that will come out of iterating it Range in std::ops - Rust