Understanding Rust async code execution

I'm trying to get an idea of how asynchronous code works in lower levels.

I've been writing synchronous Rust at my day job for the past 6 months. I'm fairly confident in my ability at understanding synchronous Rust code (borrowing etc are fine).

I have written a lot of Kotlin Coroutines code. I understand how code gets rewritten into a state machine, and how state is passed from one suspension point to another. I've read the Async book, and I get why Pin is necessary and how it works.

What I don't understand is what happens during an await. According to the Async book and to the Without Boats conference in 2019, it seems like futures are polling for their result.

The intuition I've built is that the main advantage of asynchronous programming is that it allows to do something else while the thing doing the work (wether it's another thread, an IO system call etc) does its thing.
However, if futures are polling for their result, how can they ever do something else in the meantime?

Either I've missed some important ways the caller is notified when the future is ready, without them having to actively poll, or work only happens during polling, in which case asynchronous in Rust must mean something very different that in does in other languages I've used.

Have you seen this page?

1 Like

it seems like futures are polling for their result.

Let me make this a little more precise: futures have a poll() method. When a future is polled, it will then recursively poll whatever future or futures it contains. That is, the code

async {
    foo.await;
    bar.await;
}

turns into a Future implementation that is roughly like (pseudocode, leaving out details)

impl Future for SomeAsyncBlock {
    fn poll(&mut self, context: &mut Context) {
        match self {
            Self::WaitingForFooState { foo, bar } => {
                match foo.poll(context) {
                    Poll::Ready(_) => *self = Self::WaitingForBarState { bar },