Understanding Mutable Borrowing Behavior in Rust

Hello Rust Community,

I'm new to Rust and came across a behavior I'm trying to understand regarding mutable borrowing. Here's the code:

let mut s = String::from("Does work");
let t: &mut String = &mut s;
s.push('?');
println!("{}", s);

From my learning, I thought this code shouldn't compile because s is being modified while it's mutably borrowed by t. However, it compiles and runs without errors. Does Rust's borrow checker enforce rules only when the borrowed variable (t in this case) is used, not just declared? Or is there something I'm missing about how borrowing works?

Yes, that’s indeed the case. And interestingly enough, it’s not always been this way. Lifetimes used to be more “lexical”, i.e. focusing on the lexical scope a variable is declared in. If you take your code to an older version on Compile Explorer, you can indeed find an error message

error[E0499]: cannot borrow `s` as mutable more than once at a time
 --> <source>:5:5
  |
4 |     let t: &mut String = &mut s;
  |                               - first mutable borrow occurs here
5 |     s.push('?');
  |     ^ second mutable borrow occurs here
8 | }
  | - first borrow ends here

error[E0502]: cannot borrow `s` as immutable because it is also borrowed as mutable
 --> <source>:6:20
  |
4 |     let t: &mut String = &mut s;
  |                               - mutable borrow occurs here
5 |     s.push('?');
6 |     println!("{}", s);
  |                    ^ immutable borrow occurs here
7 | 
8 | }
  | - mutable borrow ends here

error: aborting due to 2 previous errors

And to fix it, you’d have to write

{
    // …can use `t` here
}
s.push('?');
println!("{}", s);