Understanding Cargo Workspaces

Hi,
I'm new in Rust Programming and try to port my small Game Engine from C++.
I already began to read through the Rust Book and made some small demos and enjoy the language:grin:.
Now I make hard to understand Cargo Workspaces. As far as I understand it's a feature to work with multiple crates that share the same dependencies(and maybe depend on eath other).
I thought I could split up my project into crates like Input, Graphics.... but is it the intention to use Cargo Workspaces this way (too)? Or am I misunderstanding the whole concept? Until this chapter a crate (for my interpretation) was a binary or library unit and not a part of a project.
Please enlighten me

Cargo workspaces are a way to bundle a few crates together like you said.
It would make more sense if each crate was reusable for other projects and not just one project.
My personal opinion for you would be to make a single crate for your project, and split graphics/input into separate modules - unless each part is generic and can be used easily in other projects.

Yes, cargo workspaces allow sharing dependencies between crates (workspace members) but only if the manifest of each crate allows it. If i have crate A and Crate B, which both require

bytes = ">0.0.1, <=0.1.0"

Cargo will select the latest constraint compatible version for both crate A and B, bytes=0.1.0.

There is also exactly 1 build folder per workspace, which means that the 'bytes' dependency only needs to be built once. Each crate can consume the same artefact to built itself.
Unless of course there is a version collision and bytes=1.0.0 and bytes=0.1.0 are necessary, so both are built.

Crates of the same project are often stored within a workspace because they share the same dependencies, be it external (from crates.io) or one from the workspace itself. This results in lower compilation times because each crate isn't built separately, including the entire dependency-chain per crate.