Unable to Access Function within Same Module

Good morning!

I'm a formerly seasoned programmer with experience in Pascal, C, C++, Java, perl, and some python; however, most of my dev experience is from the late '90s to early 2000s (hence the languages you see). I'm trying to learn Rust but can't seem to understand why I can't call a function declared within my module from another function within the module. Ignore the use of print!() vice println!() inside the print_* functions because they actually contain long multiline strings rather than the dummy strings shown in this paste.

Here's the code at issue that is generating errors I can't resolve:

// module for parsing cmdline options

use std::collections::HashMap;

pub fn parse_options(argv: Vec) -> HashMap<String, String> {
return options::parse_options(argv);
}

mod options {
use std::collections::HashMap;
use std::env;
use std::io;
use std::process;

const help_opt: String = "--help".to_string();
const help_opt_short: String = "-h".to_string();

pub fn parse_options(argv: Vec<String>) -> HashMap<String, String> {
    let parsed = HashMap::new();

// state machine for parsing arguments

// state 0: -- if no options, print short help
    if (argv.len() == 0) {
        options::print_usage_synopsis();
        process::exit(0);
    }
    // state 1: -- check if --help passed anywhere
    else if (argv.contains(&help_opt) || argv.contains(&help_opt_short)) {
        options::print_full_help();
    }

return parsed;
}

fn print_usage_synposis() {
    print!("usage_synopsis\n");
}

fn print_full_help() {
    print!("full_help\n");
}

}

In my main.rs, I do the following:

use std::collections::HashMap; use std::env; use std::io; use std::process;

pub mod options;

fn main() {
let argv: Vec = env::args().collect();

println!("foo v0.0");

println!("args passed were: {:?}", argv);

options::parse_options(argv);

}

My src directory structure is as follows:

src/
|
+----main.rs
|
+----options.rs