Trait is not general enough for Send-able future

I'm having some trouble understanding lifetimes as they relate to futures. I've read the other posts on here I could find related to the "not general enough" error, and while I vaguely understand them, I don't understand well enough to apply them to my situation. I'm also relatively new to async programming in Rust.

I've got a struct that's holding onto a Box<tokio::sync::Mutex<sqlx::Transaction>>, and I'd like to use that transaction in the context of a generic function that takes any connection that implements sqlx::Acquire. I'd like to call that generic function from a method on an async_trait decorated trait. However, I get an error: implementation of sqlx::Acquire is not general enough.

Through getting this down to a minimal reproducible example and removing use of async_trait, I've figured out that the error comes from the Send requirement that async_trait adds to the bounds of the return type.

I am able to implement my trait using a struct that just holds a sqlx::PgPool, where I'm passing a &PgPool into the method, so it seems to be somehow related to the lifetime of the Transaction itself, but even if I set this lifetime to static, I get the same error.

However, I am struggling to understand why that's the case, so if anyone could help me understand the following, I'd really appreciate it.

• Why does the Send bound lead to trait is not general enough?
  • Is there any way to do what I'm trying to do?
  • I could remove the Send bound, but is that a bad idea? Generally, none of the implementations of the trait are spawning new threads or futures, so it seems like removing the bound might be okay. What would I be losing by removing the bound?

My minimal-ish reproduction is below. Unfortunately I haven't yet been able to figure out how to reproduce with a custom trait, so the reproduction has sqlx as a dependency.

// so we've got some function that uses something that implements Acquire (impl