Tokio, Futures, and UDP

Hi all,

I've been looking at two examples in tokio-core related to futures & UDP as well as the tutorial that Alex Crichton wrote (https://github.com/alexcrichton/futures-rs/blob/master/TUTORIAL.md). He's done quite a lot and I keep seeing his name pop up, much praise to him. I'm still confused a bit confused as to how futures operate in the context of a larger application. I think this is partly due to the fact that I haven't heard of futures until Rust, and I am still very new to Rust.

From what I understand, tokio builds on top of the futures crate to handle asynchronous I/O for protocols (tokio==mio+futures). Okay, I could have pulled that definition off of any website. Well then, what does this mean to me? I need to receive a response (or fire off a request which has its own response), but I don't want to sit there waiting for it. Ideally I'd like to go off and do other things. In essence, I need to process something that will arrive in the future, and I am not ready now (or rather it is not ready).

So specific to my problem, I think this means I would use tokio to set up a future for a "UDP handler" which could send and receive udp packets, populating and pulling from queues as needed.

So far, I can only really see the receiving aspect via poll(). It seems to me that poll() would be the perfect spot to listen for new packets on a socket. I gleamed this from the echo-udp.rs example in tokio-core. What I don't understand is how this same socket could be used to send data to a destination. It looks like accessing that socket can only occur within the context of poll(), but I do not want to send data there, only receive it. I do understand that poll, rather the Server future owns the socket, so yes I can only access it from poll(). I considered perhaps I need two futures, one for sending and receiving, but I threw that idea out as I don't see why/how the sender would need to poll.