Tokio::spawn_blocking: calling sync operation from async and awaiting still blocks the thread?

Rust beginner here, venturing in async with tokio.
I have an async UDP server which needs to perform a sync, kind-of-cpu-intensive, operation upon receiving a packet (i.e. around 10ms of processing).
I know spawn_blocking is not well-suited for cpu-bound loads, but in my case I don't expect to run out of threads in the thread-pool and, most importantly, I'm seeing the behaviour I'm going to describe also when using rayon as suggested here.
Besides, my question is mostly to understand better how to correctly use tokio, so here is the structure of my code

#[tokio::main]
async fn main() -> ...
{
  let server = Server::new(...)
  // setup socket and server, then

server.run().await?
}

impl Server
{
  async fn run(self) -> ...
  {
     loop
     {
        let (data, peer) = socket.recv_from(&mut buffer).await?;

let expensive_result = tokio::task::spawn_blocking(|| sync_process(data)).await?;
     }
  }
}

With this implementation, I see that the thread remains blocked even if I run my sync_process function wrapped in the spawn_blocking API. (I see that I can't receive new UDP packets while sync_process is running).
I can also see that each invocation of sync_process happen on the same thread everytime.

So, maybe I misunderstood, but my mental model was that wrapping a sync call in spawn_blocking, would allow you to, so-to-say, "introduce an .await point where a sync function is executed" to allow the tokio runtime to keep juggling tasks on the worker threads (and hence be able to keep receiving UDP messages in my case) while process_data was executing in background on dedicated threads (until there are available, of course).

Instead, it seems to me that doing

spawn_blocking(|| sync_process()).await