There is any performance difference between &Vec<f32> and &[f32]?

Hi,
There is any performance difference (speed) between &Vec and &[f32]?

I am not an expert so i am not sure, but I can still share my apriori waiting for someone else to answer you, but since a vec is only a wrapper around an &[f32], i would say no, and also because the compiler will handle it probably the same way. But, there could potentially be a difference between a [f32; N] and a Vec<f32> since one can be in stack but not the other.

So if your &[f32] just comes out of the vec, probably no, but if your &[f32] comes out of a [f32; N], then maybe, but even there I am not really sure.

1 Like

A Vec<f32> stores a pointer to the memory it manages, which is a sort of [f32]. Every &T is also a pointer to T.

Therefore, &Vec<f32> is a pointer to a pointer to [f32] — meaning that accessing the items in it requires the CPU to dereference two pointers, one after the other. (And one pointer must be dereferenced to even find its length.) Thus, it will often be slower to access, at least when the relevant data is not in cache.

Of course, this may still be a very small effect not worth thinking about, depending on what kind of code you're writing.

However, there's a better reason to prefer to avoid &Vec<f32>, at least if you're writing a function: if your function takes a &Vec<f32> then the caller must supply a reference to an entire Vec<f32>, whereas if the function takes a slice reference, &[f32], the function can work with any sort of [f32] — e.g. a slice of part of a Vec<f32>, or an Arc<[f32]>, or a slice of an array [f32; 1024]. It's both more flexible/general and more efficient, so it should be preferred whenever possible.