The Book Guessing Game Issue

Hello,

I am just starting to learn Rust, and I started this journey with The Guessing Game on the Book.
I was a the end where the code is as below :

use rand::Rng;
use std::cmp::Ordering;
use std::io;

fn main() {
    println!("Guess the number!");

let secret_number = rand::thread_rng().gen_range(1..101);

loop {
        println!("Please input your guess.");

let mut guess = String::new();

io::stdin()
            .read_line(&mut guess)
            .expect("Failed to read line");

let guess: u32 = match guess.trim().parse() {
            Ok(num) => num,
            Err(_) => continue,
        };

println!("You guessed: {}", guess);

match guess.cmp(&secret_number) {
            Ordering::Less => println!("Too small!"),
            Ordering::Greater => println!("Too big!"),
            Ordering::Equal => {
                println!("You win!");
                break;
            }
        }
    }
}

I come from Perl/Lua so I tried to put the creation of the mutable guess String before the Loop to avoid declaring a new variable every time the loop loop. The issue is that read_line from io::stdin append the value and do not replace, so it dosen't work as intended. I looked at the documentation of Stdin and found no method to replace instead of append. Is it impossible ?

Do I have to conclude that using let multiple time in a loop in Rust can't hinder (even slightly) the performance ?

Thanks you.

I looked at the documentation of Stdin and found no method to replace instead of append.

You can call guess.clear() to remove the existing text before reading new text. This is the most efficient option because it can reuse the existing allocation.