STM32F3 Discovery, OV7670

I have an STM32F3 Discovery board like the one used in the Embedded Rust book, and I’m trying to get it to work with an OV7670 camera module. I wasn’t able to get sensible pixel data, so I decided to scale back and just see if I could communicate with it using I2C, and I couldn’t even get that to work. :pensive:

3V3 is connected to 3V on the F3 board.
GND is connected to ground.
SIOC is connected to PB6.
SIOD is connected to PB7.
XCLK is connected to PA8.
RESET is connected to 3V.
PWDN is connected to ground.
Here’s the repo with hopefully minimal test code: https://github.com/bsl/ov7670-test

Here’s the output:

hseon  false
hserdy false
hsion  true
hsirdy true
pllon  true
pllrdy true
pllmul 4
pllsrc false
sws    2
mco    4
mcof   true
--
before write_read

Unfortunately, I have never used this OV7670 module before, so I don’t know if it’s functional. I also don’t have an oscilloscope, so I can’t be sure that XCLK is getting 24MHz clock. I’m hoping someone will just see something crazy in the code, or that I’m missing something important, or that I need more electronics stuff like resistors.

Thanks for any help!

It might be worth getting a cheap sigrok-compatible logic analyser (I got the £10 (circa USD 13) “Hobby Components” 8 channel USB one to debug some 1-wire stuff). The one I got (and most of the cheap ones) are only 24MHz max, but you might be able to use it during debug if you can clock the module down to a lower frequency?

Thanks very much for the suggestion – I wasn’t sure what device would be good, and a lot of them are expensive. I got that one ordered. IIRC the OV7670 datasheet says that the external clock can be as low as 10MHz, and I’ve heard people have gotten it to work as low as 8MHz. I’m really looking forward to seeing if a clock is really happening on PA8. Thanks again.

I finally got my logic analyzer. Here’s how PA8 looks in PulseView: https://i.imgur.com/F5wPnJ9.png