up: 0,
            down: 0,
            left: 0,
            right: 0
        }; HEIGHT]; WIDTH];
        arr[0][0].traversed=69;
        println!("{}",arr[0][0].traversed);

}

Which compiles fine on Rust Playground. However, for whatever reason, when compiling on Windows 10, I get the error "thread 'main' has overflowed its stack".

Is there any further configuration or adjustment I should make on Windows 10 or the Cargo.toml file? Thank you

I have little experience of Windows programming but I would be loath to declare megabyte and a half of array on the stack like that anywhere.

Note: The stack overflow happens when running the program, not when compiling it.

This happens because arr takes up about 1.4 MB of stack space. Limits on stack space are different on different machines and platforms, but generally it's a good idea to store large values (hundreds of KB or larger) on the heap. You can do this by changing arr from an array to a Vec:

let mut arr= vec![[Node{ traversed: 0, ended: 0,
        up: 0,
        down: 0,
        left: 0,
        right: 0
    }; HEIGHT]; WIDTH];
1 Like

Awesome. Thank you.

Sound fair to me :smiley:

Note that on Windows you can set your applications stack size using a linker flag. Oddly Rust sticks with the fallback value of 1 MiB for the main thread but (by default) sets it to 2 MiB when creating threads.

But yes, the heap is always preferable for large values.

Can you specify how to flag it, the syntax that is. I am new, so this might come in handy.

Sure. But it depends on the linker. For the msvc toolchain it's something like /STACK:8000000 which will set the stack to 8 megabytes. For the gnu toolchain it's --stack 8000000 (took me awhile to find where that's documented).

Setting this in Rust is a bit awkward. You need to create a folder in the root of your project directory called ".cargo" and then add a file to it called "config.toml". In that file you can set custom linker options:

# 64 bit MSVC