Stack overflow in async main function due to excessive stack allocation (*not* from recursion)

I'm new to Rust, so this may be a newbie question.

My test application is currently crashing with a stack overflow exception on Windows. The problem is NOT an issue with recursion, but instead many of the functions have significant amounts of stack space allocated to them. For instance, the "main" function in my application has a 281K stack allocation, and several other functions have 30K stack allocations. Collectively these allocations explode the default Windows 1M stack.

Looking at the assembly, it appears that the allocation comes from a function named something like _ZN16<snip>batch4main28_$u7b$$u7b$closure$u7d$$u7d$17habc06fd5a7dbe532E which appears to be a closure that the compiler generated to enable calling "drop" on exit from the function.

Looking at the metadata for that function, it appears that the function is calling "drop" on the transitive closure for all types referenced in my function.

Is my analysis off base? Does anyone understand where the 280K stack allocation comes from? And does anyone know how I can convince the compiler to use somewhat less stack?

There’s a Clippy lint for excessively large Futures.

Potentially every .await merges the state of the called future with its caller, and this can snowball into having all of the state of your entire program merged into one huge struct, and it will be on the stack.

If that’s the case for you, then wrap calls to big functions in Box::pin(call()).await. This will move that state to the heap, making caller’s future smaller.

8 Likes

Of course, if a Box::pin around the right future does the job for you, then that’s a good and simple solution.