Spinning my wheels writing a runtime-agnostic async Rust library

Hi everyone, I'm an experienced developer in other languages but not in Rust.

I'm trying to figure out how to write a Rust library that does thread-safe async operations. Because it's a library, I'd like to make it runtime-agnostic. (So a binary that uses the library might rely on tokio, for example, but the library itself should not force that choice.)

This discussion suggests using the futures crate, but I'm having trouble finding beginner-level docs on how to use it. I've been searching and reading for a few hours now and feel a bit like I'm trying to drink the ocean.

I think I need a nudge. To start simply, how would I write a function, that does not depend on any particular runtime, to open a file in a nonblocking way?

use futures::io::{something(s)};
async fn open_file(name: &str) -> ??? {
  ???
}

(Implicit assumption: on most operating systems, opening a file can block until the file is actually open, so I assume there's an async way to do it. I might be wrong about that.)

Thanks in advance!

Sadly, there is no (widely portable, at least) way to do non-blocking filesystem operations. The way it is done in practice, by Tokio and other libraries, is to have a thread pool for blocking operations, and run all filesystem operations on that thread pool.

So, this is bad news for high-performance async filesystem IO, but it is actually good news for your portability: all you need to do is require your caller to provide their async executor's spawn_blocking() function or equivalent, and then just run blocking std::fs or std::io operations in the blocking context using that function.

2 Likes

In Windows you can use IO Completion Ports like any other resource, though the interface is somewhat insane. On Linux the best option is io_uring, but that is both complex and needs recent kernel versions (depending on features you use)