Speed (algorithm versus stored value)

Let's say that you are writing a program where there are a very large number of scenarios. All of which are arithmetic in nature (a+b/c - . . .yada yada). So, you write an algorithm to deal with all of the scenarios. However, in real practice, only (100) of those scenarios are actually implemented 90% of the time. Would there be a speed savings to forgo the algorithm for those (100) scenarios and simply store those particular results in the binary, while implementing the algorithm for the others?

Benchmark, benchmark, benchmark ......
(Criterion is a fairly good library for that. Hyperfine if you're doing command line benchmarking).

3 Likes

I should have preambled my question with the fact that I am a newbie, so please respond as though I'm your favorite first-grader.

It depends...

If you have a 100 calculations like "a+b/c" where a, b and c are constants the compiler will calculate the results at compile time and plug them in where needed. No need to store the values, it's effectively done for you.

On the other hand if a, b and c are variables of 64 bit integer type then you all ready have bazillions of possible results depending on their values at run time. No hope of storing all of those.

As noted above, your best bet is to implement your code both ways and measure the execution time.

Note that if you do store bazillions of results in some kind of look up table then actually doing the look up could tale longer than recalculating the things. This is due to the way cache memory works on modern processors. Depends how many things you have and how complex each calculation is.

4 Likes

Okay, so I'll expand on my answer...