Some things I learnt in the last few weeks

As a rust beginner, I thought I would post some things I have learnt recently, which I think are useful, but they are not covered in "the book" ( as far as I know ).

(1) traits can have a supertrait.

(2) mem::replace for extracting a value from a struct accessed by a mut reference.

(3) The crate cap for checking for memory usage and leaks.

(4) Panics can be caught, and may be worth considering as an alternative to Result.

(5) self can be declared in many different ways, for example as self: &Rc<Self>

Is there anything useful you have learnt about Rust recently ( or not so recently )?

7 Likes

Cool idea for a post. I hope Jon (and his publishers) won't get too mad about me sharing a small quote from the first chapter of their book, but here it goes nevertheless:

Newer Rust developers are often taught to think of lifetimes as corresponding to scopes: a lifetime begins when you take a reference to some variable and ends when that variable is moved or goes out of scope. That’s often correct, and usually useful, but the reality is a little more complex. A lifetime is really a name for a region of code that some reference must be valid for. While a lifetime will frequently coincide with a scope, it does not have to.

A 'static lifetime, thus, doesn't represent a lifetime of a reference to a value that has to live for the entire program (as many people think, and you can't really blame them - as the static keyword is used to create static variables that are valid for the whole length of the program), but a lifetime of a reference that has to be valid for an arbitrary length of time.