Size of the executable binary file of an application

I am new to Rust and so far I was amazed by its design. But I encountered something that makes me be scared to use it in commercial projects. The size of the executable binary file of a "Hello world" application is 3.2Mb.

-rwxr-xr-x 2 kos kos 3,2M Jul 10 15:44 experiment_app_size

That's huge!

The version of rustc is 1.53.0
The toolchain is stable-x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu.
Target is release.

I am wondering is it planned to fix the problem in the future?
Is there a technique I can use to decrease the size of the executable binary file?
Is the same problem relevant to WASM toolchain?

1 Like

Rust uses monomorphization and static linking, which does tend to cause the size of binaries to be larger than languages which do not do those things, however the benefits of these techniques are generally seen as outweighing the file size impact.

There is some information here on how to generate much smaller binaries: GitHub - johnthagen/min-sized-rust: 🦀 How to minimize Rust binary size 📦

Following that guide, I was able to get a hello world binary around 93k.

8 Likes

The main reason is the C cheat on its binary size by pre-distribute its standard library. Rust cannot assume it so it statically link its stdlib within the binary. In my environment uncheated C binary compiled with gcc -static main.c takes 872 kB.

But 872 kB still is larger than 3.2MB! Well, that's because your fn main() does more than single printf call. For example it registers default panic hook and print stack trace if the hello world output fails, which is the case silently ignored in most C code.

2 Likes

My basic understanding of the theory of compilers prompts me that unused code could be optimized out from the release build, which seems is not the case.

Any good reading on monomorphization?
Is the problem relevant to WASM toolchain too?

I don't think we need be scared about this.