Rust - What would be your top and flop?

We all love Rust here, but maybe for different reasons. We all hate something about Rust, but we might not hate the same thing. So the question is simple, what's your top feature/aspect of Rust, and what's the worst feature/aspect of it ? You may only name 1, and you're, of course, allowed to comment on why it is in your top/flop.

If you have tips on how to solve someone's flop (a link to a specific doc, a crate, etc), don't hesitate...

Top: the type system, strong and expressive, I love it.
Flop: error handling, ugh. We need to work on that.

5 Likes

For me...
Top: I really feel like anything is possible if i have the skills. I could write a web app, device driver or an OS. I feel like all of the capability is there
Flop: As a beginner I get lost in all of the flexibility and options. I don't know exactly what i'd want to fix this. Maybe an "opinionated" guide to building an app from start to finish. Like you mentioned about error handling, every resource i could find had a slightly different take on how to do this.

7 Likes

Top: Error handling. First language that provides a way I'm really comfortable with.

Flop: The "old" syntax that makes it somewhat hard to see if one's using a trait object. Easily solvable by #![deny(bare_trait_object)] though.

8 Likes

Never had any problem with the docs, the book suffices imho (and is written very well), but I've also not found a huge variance in tutorials (if you don't know it yet, look at this one). I don't directly use std::io::Error, but you might want to look at the failure crate which provides a way to add context.

1 Like

TOP:

• Global ecosystem (Cargo, crates.io,rustup, clippy, rustfmt) just efficient, clear, easy to understand
  • Compile everywhere including wasm
  • Fast & compact binary
  • Good community
  • Good documentation
  • I spend time to make it compile but I have very few bug compare to other language I am using
  • I don't find limit for now
    FLOP