Rust Web Hosting

So I've created a web app that runs on Actix and am looking to start hosting the website. I didn't know this, but it seems that most services assume you're using a mySQL database with php serverside. This is a problem for me because I use Redis as my database. Is it not possible to run Rust & Redis under shared hosting platforms? -Is the only available option for me to try to get root access under VPS hosting and then run Rust & Redis? How does that work, do I just post the same code as I would use to launch locally? I'm kind of new to the whole hosting thing from transitioning from localhost to remote hosting so I would appreciate any tips. I'm currently eyeing hostwinds because they have pretty good pricing for VPS hosting and scale quite well. Thanks!

1 Like

What you probably are searching for is either (as you said) working directly on VPS, or a so-called Platform as a service.

Thing with VPS is: while you often want to have more flexibility for your web-server code, databases and caches should just work.

PaaS will manage your resources (databases, ...) for you, and then you provide some Docker-Container, or they have language specific scripts to support programming languages.

One working example for many use-cases is Heroku, where you can find a rust buildpack. ( crates.io runs on Heroku for example). Here is an example app for Actix on Heroku.

Other examples I know of are

If you want to stay small, DigitalOcean also offers hosted databases and hosted object storage that you can easily use with their droplets

3 Likes

I just get a Debian Linux instance from Digital Ocean and install everything I want on there the same way I would a local Linux PC.

One day I should catch up with all the new fangled Cloud stuff.

1 Like

One day I should catch up with all the new fangled Cloud stuff.

:smile:

If you never needed, it's also fine.