Rust, SDL2 and raw textures help

Hi,

I just chose Rust to get into programming, the road is a quite a bit harder but I wanted to start with a language that I think has the most promise.

I have started to dabble with the rust-sdl2 crate and I am stuck on a specific issue and struggling to understand the documentation.

I'm trying to render pixels to the screen at a decent frame rate so I started playing using sdl2::render::Canvas::draw_point and sdl2::render::Canvas::set_draw_color but it's dreadfully slow.
I did a bit of research and it seems that the fastest way to do it is to use a texture and then copy the texture to the renderer. Unfornately, I can only find examples on how to load textures from files and I can't figure out how to actually write to a raw texture.

I would really appreciate some help, I guess the fact that I'm a beginner at both Rust and SDL doesn't help but it's the only way I found to get myself some motivation.

Thanks in advance!

Sometimes, the best place to look for procedural information is the original library’s documentation: There’s a C example on the SDL_CreateTexture page; the basic approach seems to be:

• Call SDL_CreateTexture to allocate a texture.
  • Call SDL_SetRenderTarget to start drawing to the texture
  • Use the same SDL_Render* calls you’re already using to draw the texture contents
  • Call SDL_SetRenderTarget again to draw to the screen
  • Call SDL_RenderCopy to draw a copy of the texture onto the screen.

I’m sure that all of these functions have fairly direct Rust equivalents, but I don’t have any experience with the Rust bindings.

What do you want to do?

SDL may not be the best solution.

EDI: Now that I read your post again, how about pixel-canvas — graphics rendering in Rust // Lib.rs ?
Drawing images pixel by pixel with each call passing via SDL will never be fast. Too much overhead.