Rust or go for my networking project

I started learning rust some times ago and i have a project i am currently starting to work on: a small networking project for a p2p file sharing system, someone recommended me Golang but i do not really want to use something other than rust, so i would like to have an honest comparison of the 2 on the networking side.

I know that i may not receive unbiased answers but please try to be as unbiased as possible,

I don't know anything about Go, but if you go for Rust, I just want to make sure that you know that Tokio recently released a Tokio tutorial: https://tokio.rs/tokio/tutorial, because it really is a valuable resource on networking applications in Rust.

2 Likes

Unfortunately I'm new to Rust so I can't say anything about that, but I have quite a bit of experience with Go and I recently wrote something similar to your project (but much simpler, basically just a sub/pub service) and I'm not happy how it turned out and I'm thinking of rewriting it in Rust to see if it gets better.

I have a map of incoming connections and for each connection it holds the TCP connection and several channels (signaling new messages, timeouts, canceled context, closed connection, etc.) and because of Go's channel axioms, especially "A send to a closed channel panics", it takes quite a bit of juggling to make sure that all channels are drained and no goroutines are leaked when a connection is dropped from either side. It's really quite ugly.

I watched a YouTube video of a Rust conference talk. Unfortunately, I can't dig it up now.

He talked about introducing Rust at his company. For the first two tasks they tried with Rust, it was a great success. For the third task, it was painful. That third task was building a network service. I've built a few network services myself, mostly in C++.