Rust-analyzer and sysroot

Hi. I'm a long-time programmer but new to Rust, VS-code, and rust-analyzer.

My first time around, I followed a number of apparently incompatible tutorials and wound up with a lot of things I'm pretty sure weren't necessary. I'm trying again on a simple Ubuntu 20.4 VM with the minimum needed, building it up as I go.

So far I have rustup installed (which is a snap in Ubuntu), and VS-code (actually Codium, which is VS-code with the Microsoft telemetry removed). I can happily compile and debug simple apps with only the CodeLLDB and Rust (rust-lang) extensions added. "cargo build" also works correctly.

Now I am trying to switch to rust-analyzer (as everyone seems to feel it's better), but I continually get an error saying "rust-analyer failed to load workspace: Failed to find sysroot for Cargo.toml file.". If I turn off using sysroot in the extension settings, rust-analyzer works fine.

It gives me some hints: it thinks sysroot is /usr (I did nothing related to /usr -- perhaps the snap has that preconfigured somehow?) and asks if rust-src is installed (it is, using rustup component add rust-src).

If I understand sysroot properly (I can't really find any meaningful documentation at all), the system crates it wants to locate are .rlib files with core etc in the names, located in separate folders by target. I've found such a structure under /home/paul/snap/rustup/common/toolchains/stable-x86)64-unknown-linux-gnu/lib/rustlib/ (3 more levels).

I suspect the snap install put the sysroot there -- how do I tell rust-analyzer that's were they are?

Thanks for any help,
Paul

Out of curiosity, which version of Rust are you using? If it's the latest stable (1.58.1) you should be fine, otherwise you might be running into this issue:

The troubleshooting steps in this issue may also be useful: