Read_unaligned of packed vector in a struct crashes program

I'm very new to rust and have run into this situation. The program listed below, crashes due to:
"free(): double free detected in tcache 2". I've tried this reading from primitives inside the
struct and that does not cause the issue.

Any ideas?

/**
 * We want to store the data obtained from a disk file. The file consists
 * of a bunch of bytes whose structure is defined in an external spec.
 * This struct is a small example of what's in that spec. The spec does
 * not include any padding between the tag and a_vec.
 */
#[repr(packed)]
struct S{
    tag : u8,
    a_vec : Vec<u8>
}

/**
 * in this example we build the input from an array but in the real
 * program, it would come from a disk file.
 */
fn main() {
    let a_array : [u8;11] = [0x5, 0x31, 0x32, 0x33, 0x34, 0x35, 0x36, 0x37, 0x38, 0x39, 0x3A];
    let a_vec = a_array.to_vec();
    process(&a_vec);
}

/**
 * After loading up a byte vector (e.g. from a disk file) here we want
 * to have our way with it.  In particular, we want to put it into a struct
 * along with it's first byte value, its length, and the first word of it.
 * @v : a vector containing the bytes we want to process
 */
fn process(v : &Vec<u8>){
    let my_s = S{
        tag : v[0],                             // the first byte is a tag
        a_vec : get_bytes(&v, 1, v.len()-1)     // the next bunch of bytes is data
    };

//  this works because the first byte is aligned
    println!("tag = {:x?}",my_s.tag);

//  but the vector is not so we have to fetch it using
    //  read_unaligned.

//  This println fails due to "reference to packed field is unaligned"
    //      println!("doing something with a_vec {:x?}", my_s.a_vec);
    //  so we try this instead. But when the program ends we get:
    //
    //      free(): double free detected in tcache 2
    //
    let unaligned = std::ptr::addr_of!(my_s.a_vec);
    let v = unsafe { std::ptr::read_unaligned(unaligned)};