Read_to_string() Function vs read_to_string() Method

I'm still really new to rust, but it's been fascinating so far. Forgive me if some of my syntax is off. I'm still getting used to statically/strongly-typed languages again.

I noticed that read_to_string() can either be used as a module-level function, or as a method of sorts (still learning/remembering rust's terminology) that's attached to the File handle object. Are these two different functions though? They seem to be, but I can't find docs that define both of them.

The module-level version appears to take a single string param for the file name, and return a Result<T, E> like so:

let contents = fs::read_to_string("readme.txt").expect("Invalid file");

fs::read_to_string() is pretty straightforward: provide a file/path, and it'll string that contains the contents of the file wrapped in a Result if all goes well.

The read_to_string() method that is attached to a File object seems less straightforward:

let f = File::open("readme.txt").expect("Invalid file");
let mut contents = String::new();

match f.read_to_string(&mut contents) {
  Ok(_) => println!("loaded file: {}", contents),
  Err(e) => println!("error occurred: {}", e);
};

Since this is a File handle object, it can be assumed that the file is already opened, and so it appears to take a mutable string to serve a memory location of where to allocate and fill the contents with the file's data. Still makes sense. It also appears to return a Result<T, E> in case of errors, which makes sense for errors, but not for succeses. What does the Ok() variant return? Is it just a unit()? How come read_to_string() takes a mutable reference in this case? Couldn't that method instantiate a new string within its implementation details, and return the newly-allocated string in its Ok() variant instead like fs::read_to_string() does?