Random number without using the external crate?

I'm new to Rust and somehow finagled myself into teaching it to some high school students. They can't install anything on their school computers so I'm using Repl.it, which doesn't allow external crates. Is there any way to generate a random number with the standard library?

2 Likes

Not of high quality, but sure. How about allocating something, taking the pointer to it, retreiving the adress, casting that to u32 and then applying modulo operation to get it into the range you need? Won't survive any QA, but probably random enough for just-doing-stuff(tm).

Sorry, I am super new to Rust. What do you mean by "allocating something"? And yeah, this isn't production quality, this is just to work around the guessing game that is done in the rust book.

"Allocating something" means making a variable. It's value will take some space in memory, and that space will have an address, which is not-really-but-something-like-maybe-random.

Here is an example: Rust Playground. You might want to play around a bit, I've had some strange results trying this in a loop, I guess the optimizer was too helpfull.

2 Likes

Thank you! That was very helpful.

That said, you could also switch to the playground and use crates there. Not sure if that fits your bill, though.

2 Likes

Feels super no-go to me, but should do it ^^

You could use the current time with a high precision in the same way, if that's better for you :stuck_out_tongue:

Here is an example that shows how to print a raw pointer (as KillTheMule suggested):

let ptr = Box::into_raw(Box::new(123));
println!("ptr: {}", ptr as usize);

You will notice that the number is always even -- since it is a memory address, it will be aligned to the size of an integer.