Python code fast than the equivalent in Rust

Hey guys! I'm new to Rust and I'm doing some experiments to familiarize myself with the language. I created code in Python and Rust that reads 999,999 integers from a file and sorts and reverses them. But my Python code runs in 1.8 seconds, while the Rust code (compiled with the --release flag) runs in 2.9 seconds. Any tips on how to speed up this code? I tried adding file and stdout read buffers but to no avail.

Python code:

import time
from io import StringIO

st = time.time()

text_stream = StringIO()
f = open("random_numbers.txt", "r")
lines = f.readlines()
numbers = list(map(lambda x : int(x.strip()), lines))
numbers.sort()
numbers.reverse()

for n in numbers:
    text_stream.write(str(n)+"\n")
f.close() 
print(text_stream.getvalue()) 
text_stream.close()

et = time.time()
elapsed_time = et - st
print('Execution time:', elapsed_time, 'seconds')

Rust code:

use std::fs::File;
use std::io::{stdout, Write};
use std::io::BufReader;
use std::io::prelude::*;
use std::time::Instant;

fn main() -> std::io::Result<()> {
    let start = Instant::now();
    let file = File::open("random_numbers.txt")?;
    let mut buf_reader = BufReader::new(file);
    let mut contents = String::new();
    buf_reader.read_to_string(&mut contents)?;
    let mut numbers = contents
        .lines()
        .map(|x| {
            x.parse::<u32>()
                .expect("Not find a u32 number")
        })
        .collect::<Vec<u32>>();
    numbers.sort();
    numbers.reverse();
    let mut lock = stdout().lock();
    for n in numbers {
        writeln!(lock,"{}", n).unwrap();
    }
    let duration = start.elapsed();
    println!("Time elapsed in expensive_function() is: {:?}", duration);
    Ok(())
}

In your Python code, f.readlines() reads one line at a time from the file, while in the Rust code, you read the whole file in at once with buf_reader.read_to_string(). Try using BufRead::lines() instead and see how that goes.