Problem calling midi windows api using winapi/winmm for extern

Hi,

I'm new to rust and am just trying to call a windows midi function - I found a nice intro to this at lowmidi.htm

So my code compiles and runs, but I get no names coming back in the structure, while others (in other languages) do here (search cos cannot post links) - how-to-get-midi-device-names

The output of running my code is below, I was hoping that the AAA would be set by the windows function to the names of my midi devices. It correctly notices my midi device when I turn it on/off in the count, but the names do not appear.

Any ideas? Am I making an obvious rookie error? I'm on Windows 10 Home 1909, a pretty vanilla dell build.

C:/Users/dave/.cargo/bin/cargo.exe run --color=always --package playground_r --bin playground_r
   Compiling playground_r v0.1.0 (C:\working\rust\playground_r)
    Finished dev [unoptimized + debuginfo] target(s) in 0.48s
     Running `target\debug\playground_r.exe`
Hello, world!
Got num_midi_in of 1
sz is 76
For 0 got ok of 0 and name of Ok("AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA") all is MIDIINCAPSW { wMid: 0, wPid: 0, vDriverVersion: 0, szPname: [65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65], dwSupport: 0 }
Got num_midi_out of 2
sz is 84
For 0 got ok of 0 and name of Ok("AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA") all is MIDIOUTCAPSW { wMid: 0, wPid: 0, vDriverVersion: 0, szPname: [65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65, 65], wTechnology: 0, wVoices: 0, wNotes: 0, wChannelMask: 0, dwSupport: 0 }