Problem binary searching into vector of structs

Hi,

rust noob here. I'm happily coding along, but now hit a snag: my attempt to find an element of a vector of structs is cut short by an error message I find no workaround for. Can somebody explain to me what goes on here? I'm really at a loss.

struct CompoundSegment
{
    relative_end: f64
}

fn main() {
   let segments = vec![CompoundSegment{relative_end: 0.5}, CompoundSegment{relative_end: 1.0}];
   let needle = 0.3;
   let pos = segments.binary_search_by(
            |segment| segment.relative_end.cmp(&needle));
   println!("{:?}", pos);
}

(Playground)

Errors:

Compiling playground v0.0.1 (/playground)
error[E0599]: no method named `cmp` found for type `f64` in the current scope
  --> src/main.rs:10:44
   |
10 |             |segment| segment.relative_end.cmp(&needle));
   |                                            ^^^ method not found in `f64`
   |
   = note: the method `cmp` exists but the following trait bounds were not satisfied:
           `f64: std::iter::Iterator`
           which is required by `&mut f64: std::iter::Iterator`

error: aborting due to previous error

For more information about this error, try `rustc --explain E0599`.
error: could not compile `playground`.

To learn more, run the command again with --verbose.

This is because float point numbers are not totally ordered because of NaN. You can do this:

let pos = segments.binary_search_by(
    |segment| segment.relative_end.partial_cmp(&needle).expect("NaN"));

This will panic if anything in the vector is NaN.

2 Likes

Amazing. I’ve encountered a few quirks of IEE754 before, but this one was new.

I wonder about the error I got. I obviously googled it (and explained it), but didn’t find this. Is this just something one has to know, or how can we derive the solution form the error?