Polymorphism for enum

hi there, i am new to rust and as my first task i am writing a script which digest different types of CSV tables. I got to a point it works nicely but there one issue with my code that is not elegant, here is a snippet which shows the problem.

trait RecordTrait {
    fn identify(&self) -> &str;
}

struct Dog {
    woof: String
}

impl RecordTrait for Dog {
    fn identify(&self) -> &str {
        self.woof.as_str()
    }
}

struct Banana {
    hmmm: String
}

impl RecordTrait for Banana {
        self.hmmm.as_str()
    }
}

enum RecordEnum {
    A(Dog),
    B(Banana),
}

impl RecordTrait for RecordEnum {
        match *self {
            RecordEnum::A(ref x) => x.identify(), // <------ is there a more elegant
            RecordEnum::B(ref x) => x.identify(), // <------   way of doing that ?
        }
    }
}

fn main() {
    let e = RecordEnum::A(Dog{woof: "its_a_dog".to_string()});
    let r: &RecordTrait = &e;

println!("{:?}", r.identify());
}

the output is:

"its_a_dog"

is there a way to have a better impl RecordTrait for RecordEnum which doesn't have to match for every enum element as they all implement the same Treat?

Assuming you need the separate structs, trait, and the enum with tuple variants containing the struct then I don't think there's any other way. You can write a macro to remove some of the boilerplate, like this half-baked example:

enum RecordEnum {
    A(Dog),
    B(Banana),
    C(Banana),
    D(Banana),
    E(Dog),
}

macro_rules! impl_record {
    ($($variant:tt)* ) => {
        impl $crate::RecordTrait for $crate::RecordEnum {
                match self {
                    $(
                      $crate::RecordEnum::$variant(x) => x.identify(),
                    )*
                }
            }
        }
    };
}

impl_record!(A B C D E);

You could try your luck with generics with something on the lines of:

fn identify<T: RecordTrait>(&self) -> &str {
           self.identify();
}