Performance issue with C-array like computation (2 times worst than naive java)

Hi !

Here is the background: at work we have, internally, some java code doing heavy computation on time series. Performance being critical, I decided to try Rust (note: I'm a rust beginner). However, I can't achieve good perf with my code, and actually it ended up being 2 times slower than our java code (51s for rust, 21s for java), with cargo --release. Now, there is no "trick" on the java side, no parallelism, nothing : it is plain naive, basically the same algo as the one I used in Rust. I can share the Rust code, but not the java one.

Here is the code with the Cargo.toml at the beginning: //--------------------// TOML /*[package]name = "ts"version = "0.1.0"a - Pastebin.com
You can test with 50words/50words_TEST.csv from Welcome to the UCR Time Series Classification/Clustering Page (big archive to be downloaded, sorry for that!), e.g. cargo run --release -- /path/to/50words_TEST.csv

The algorithm use a pre-allocated mutable 2D array of doubles that I implemented with *mut f64 (so it's a matrix, called m), that's why I'm doing index computation in the offset functions.
The heavy computation is done in compute_dtw, first the point m[0,0] is filled in, then the first line and the first column, then the rest of the matrix. In an attempt to speed things up, I tried using raw pointer (I heard that there is bound checking on vector? I'm not sure, I'm only starting with rust...).
So, once the main computation starts, no heavy allocation is done (or so I believe, I might be wrong). I also tried to inline helpers functions. Still, I can't have good perf.

Does someone now why ? Or have any suggestion ?

Thanks a lot !
Cheers
Mat

1 Like

you right, but there is unsafe methods in Vec to do access without checks,
so there is no need for pointer arithmetic.

I've had only a cursory look at the code, so I might be wrong, but the culprit seems to be the iteration pattern of

// --- Compute DTW