Pattern matching against mutable references

I'm new to Rust. I would like to know why &item can't be used in the second for loop below. I was expecting that with &item I'd get a mutable variable: item.

let mut collection = vec![1, 2, 3];
 for &item in collection.iter() {} // ok
 for &item in collection.iter_mut() {} // error: mismatched types expected `&mut {integer}` found `&_`

Looks like pattern matching won't work for mutable references?

rustc 1.60.0 (7737e0b5c 2022-04-04)

You need to use &mut when pattern matching against a mutable reference.

for &mut item in collection.iter_mut() {}
4 Likes

Thank you !!

1 Like

Related query:
Any reason why variable y in the below code is not mutable?

let mut x = 1;
  let &mut y = &mut x;
  y = 2; // error: cannot assign twice to immutable variable `y`

The statement let &mut y = &mut x just takes the &mut x reference and bind y to the value behind it, i.e. 1 (the i32, not &mut i32).

Phrased differently, your code is equivalent to this

let mut x = 1;
let y: i32 = *(&mut x); 
y = 2;

If you want y to be mutable, you would add a mut before the variable being bound (i.e. y) to get this awkward statement

fn main() {
    let mut x = 1;
    let &mut mut y = &mut x;
    y = 2;
    println!("y: {y}");
    println!("x: {x}");
}

(playground)

Which generates this output

y: 2
x: 1

Note that x and y have different values here because the &mut mut y destructuring moved the 1 out from behind the &mut x (which just copies the value because i32: Copy) and bound it to a new i32 variable, y.

Have a play with that playground link and see if you can predict what would happen if you changed various things.

4 Likes

I just spotted an interesting ambiguity in the pattern grammar here: & mut y could theoretically mean two different things:

1. An immutable binding y to the target of a mutable reference, or
  2. A mutable binding y to the target of an immutable reference.