Optimizing linear algebra code

I have benchmark, sort of, coming from university problems (I'm no programmer, I do computational physics). The code solves equations for matrices with special structures where the structure is hard coded into functions to save memory. The code was ported from Matlab to Julia to C++ to Rust by hand so it is not very idiomatic anyway.

The benchmarks for Rust are rather disappointing probably because Rust cannot optimize away the bounds checks and therefore the the loops cannot aggressively be optimized for SIMD instructions:

index

So there is almost a factor of 3 to C++ (the comparison is unfair because C++ was also compiled with the fast math options but even then there is still a factor of 2). I also use target-cpu=native for Rust but it did not change the runtimes.

I am aware that there are unsafe functions that do unchecked access on a field but it would be better for readability if I could still use the [] operator. In C++ the [] operator does not do bounds checks and in Julia bounds checks can be turned off globally or whole functions after the code has been developed and tested.

A full excerpt of the code is to follow. The code consists of for loops over ranges of the following form:

for i in l.n-l.n_x+2..=l.n-1 {
        r2 += square(-b[i-1] + x[i-1]*l.diag as f64 + x[i+1-1]*l.tri_diag as f64 + x[i-1-1]*l.tri_diag as f64 + x[i-l.n_x-1]*l.side_diag as f64);
    }

By construction the code is always inbounds but the compiler does not seem to be aware of that. My question is how one would formulate this code in a safe way. I am aware of .iter().enumerate() to iterate over elements as well as indices but it is not clear to me how this might be used for a more complex example.