Need to write an agent

Hello, I need to write an agent that checks several Windows registry settings, and possibly send it off to a server (for compliancy reports). Does anyone know if this already exists, or possibly can give me some hints to which direction i should look?

I'm very new to Rust, but they say there's no better way to learn then to do it :wink:

If you're looking to write a service then I would recommend the windows-service crate.

Do you want to run a check for deviances on request/at intervals or do you want to do live monitoring? There's the winreg crate crate which I believe is the canonical go-to crate for using the windows registry. There's also the registry crate which I used because there was something about it I found more convenient for one project, but I don't recall what it was.

If I recall correctly neither of winreg nor registry can handle live monitoring of the registry (but you should definitely double-check that). If you need this you can use the (windows crate)[https://crates.io/crates/windows] and call RegNotifyChangeKeyValue.

I will warn, however, that the windows crate has a few rough edges here and there, though it is improving pretty rapidly.

If you don't need live monitoring, and just want to run checks at certain intervals or at request, and the scope is known of the keys/values are somewhat limited, you might be able to get away with using the figment-winreg crate. It would allow you to specify the registry keys as a struct hierarchy, and fetch them using the figment crate. Basically:

#[derive(Debug,Deserialize, PartialEq)]
struct SomeSubKey {
  name: String,
}

#[derive(Debug,Deserialize, PartialEq)]
struct RootKey {
  #[serde(rename = "SubKey")]
  subkey: SomeSubKey,
  anotherstring: String
}

fn some_function() {
  // ...

let fig = Figment::new().merge(
    RegistryProvider::new(HKEY_CURRENT_USER, r"Some\Registry\Path")
      .fail_strategy(FailStrategy::Skip)
  );

let data: RootKey = fig.extract().unwrap();