Mutate generic structs

Hi, I'm pretty new to Rust and I need to mutate a struct in a place where I do not know which struct I want to mutate. I come up with the below solution:

#[derive(Debug)]
pub struct ModifyError {}

type R<X> = Result<X, ModifyError>;

pub trait GeneralField {}

pub trait Mutable {
    type Field: GeneralField;

fn modify(self, field: Self::Field, value: String) -> R<Self>
    where
        Self: std::marker::Sized;
}

#[derive(Debug, Clone)]
pub struct Astruct {
    text: String,
}

pub enum AstructField {
    Text,
}
impl GeneralField for AstructField {}

impl Mutable for Astruct {
    type Field = AstructField;

fn modify(self, field: Self::Field, value: String) -> R<Self> {
        match field {
            Self::Field::Text => Ok(Astruct {
                text: value,
                ..self
            }),
        }
    }
}

//fn general_modify<T: Mutable, X: GeneralField>(to_modify: T, field: X, value: String) -> R<T> {
//    let new = to_modify.modify(field, value);
//    new
//}

fn general_modify<T: Mutable>(to_modify: T, field: <T as Mutable>::Field, value: String) -> R<T> {
    let new = to_modify.modify(field, value);
    new
}

fn main() {
    let unmodified = Astruct {
        text: "Ciao".to_string(),
    };
    let modified = general_modify(unmodified.clone(), AstructField::Text, "Hello".to_string());
    println!("Unmodified struct is: {:#?}", unmodified);
    println!("Modified struct is: {:#?}", modified);
}

I have some questions:

1. The above approach make sense?
  2. Is there a standard way to achieve my purpose? Maybe use Serde?