Mpsc/crossbeam Channel doesn't terminate, need some help to understand why

Hi folks! I'm a Rust noob trying to build something. For last 3-4 days I'm facing an issue with my code where the program doesn't terminate and haven't been able to understand why. Hence, posting here for help :slightly_smiling_face:

Basically, I'm trying to process a set of files using Channels on a ThreadPool created using rayon (below is a snippet of core logic). This code doesn't seem to terminate.

I've tried multiple things with no luck. Any idea what I could be doing wrong? I might be missing something obvious here but not sure :frowning: (Code snippet is below)

Things tried:

1. Removed thread pools and moved to thread::spawn and joining those handles, didn't help.
  2. Was initially using receiver.iter() instead of receiver.recv() and thought that would help, but didn't.
  3. Turns out the program terminates when I use receiver.try_recv() . But, from what I understood from documentation try_recv() doesn't wait but I would like the receiver thread to wait until sender is dropped.
  4. Removed pool completely and just processing serially on receiver_thread , that doesn't work too. So, this is when I realised I'm doing some basic blunder.

Also, Any tips on how can I debug this better?

1. VS code debugging shows my threads are still running, but can't understand why or for what. The stack frame code is in assembly :sweat_smile:
  2. Tried using FlameGraph to visualize where it's stuck in execution, but doesn't run on Mac (dtrace: failed to initialize dtrace)

Thanks in advance!

Rust playground

Code snippet:

use rayon::prelude::*;
use std::collections::HashMap;
use std::sync::{mpsc, Arc, Mutex};
use std::*;

fn parallel_compute() -> Result<(), Box<dyn error::Error>> {
    let (sender, receiver) = mpsc::channel();
    let map: Arc<Mutex<HashMap<u32, u32>>> = Arc::new(Mutex::new(HashMap::new()));

let pool = rayon::ThreadPoolBuilder::new().build()?;
    sender.send(1u32)?;