Lifetime of function pointer is for<'a, '_> while it should be for<'r>

Sometimes I struggle with lifetimes. I'm still learning and I don't know what's happening here:

use std::future::Future;
use futures::future::{BoxFuture, FutureExt};

struct M{}
struct Client{}

impl Client {
    async fn send_and_expect<'a>(
        &'a mut self,
        m: &M
    ) -> std::result::Result<(), ()> {
        Ok(())
    }

pub fn connection_retrier<'a, T>(
        f: fn(&'a mut Self, &M) -> T,
        f_self: &'a mut Self,
        f_m: &'a M,
    )-> BoxFuture<'a, std::result::Result<(),()>>
    where
        T: Future<Output = std::result::Result<(), ()>> + 'a
    {
        async move {
            Client::send_and_expect(f_self, f_m).await
        }.boxed()
    }

async fn send_with_retry<'a>(&'a mut self) -> std::result::Result<(), ()> {
        let m = M{};
        Client::connection_retrier(
                    Client::send_and_expect, 
                    &mut *self, &m).await
    }
}

Error:

Compiling playground v0.0.1 (/playground)
error[E0308]: mismatched types
  --> src/lib.rs:31:21
   |
11 |     ) -> std::result::Result<(), ()> {
   |          --------------------------- the `Output` of this `async fn`'s found opaque type
31 |                     Client::send_and_expect, 
   |                     ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ one type is more general than the other
   |
   = note: expected fn pointer `for<'r> fn(&mut Client, &'r M) -> impl futures::Future`
              found fn pointer `for<'a, '_> fn(&'a mut Client, &M) -> impl futures::Future

Playground

I'm now completely confused about why in for<'r> fn(&mut Client, &'r M) -> impl futures::Future, &mut Client has no lifetime. And what does _ means in for<'a, '_> fn(&'a mut Client, &M) -> impl futures::Future`?

I'm very intersted in learning what's happening here.

I really researched about lifetimes some months ago, I tried finding everything I could, but they're still confusing to me